Breaking news

Why are there no Spanish teams in the UEFA Conference League?

Why are there no Spanish teams in the UEFA Conference League?
Why are there no Spanish teams in the UEFA Conference League?

For the first time in more than twenty years there will be three European club competitions played during the season. The tournament will be played on Thursdays, just like the Europa League. UEFA will bring together 184 teams throughout the season, including at least one from each of the 55 member associations and 46 from the UEFA Champions League. Nevertheless, Spain It will not be represented in this first edition.

Spain and UEFA

As stipulated by UEFA, Spain has six European places insured plus a new one in this new competition. Of these seven seats, four are destined to the Champions, that of the first four; two at Europa League, the fifth and the champion of the Copa del Rey; and one at Conference League, the sixth classified. However, on the assumption that the champion of the King’s Cup already have a secure European place, it would be the sixth classified who would go to the Europa League and the seventh to the new competition. For this reason, Real Sociedad and Betis are classified for the Europa League this season.

In this case, it would be the Villarreal the one who would qualify for the Conference League after finishing seventh in the final LaLiga standings last season. However, his victory in the UEFA Europa League final against Manchester United he left the place deserted for this new competition by qualifying directly for the Champions League. If we add the ‘yellow submarine’, Spain’s quota for European competitions would already be covered by having the seven classified: Atlético de Madrid, Villarreal, Real Madrid, FC Barcelona and Sevilla to the Champions League; and Real Sociedad and Betis to the Europa League (5 + 2).

Conference League

As stipulated in UEFA, the five major leagues will only have a single place for the Conference League. This is because the objective of this competition is to host as many countries as possible, going beyond the top-15 of the european leagues. The five major leagues will be represented by the Roma, Tottenham, Rennes stadium and the Union Berlin.


Spanish teams UEFA Conference League

For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News

PREV Toto Wolff finally recognizes Mercedes’ superiority
NEXT With Jorge Brito at the helm, River Plate’s ruling party closed its electoral campaign